Skip to content

In Their Own Voices 5 Book Collection Set By Harriet Jacobs

SKU: B4U00923
ISBN: 9781398805422
Save 67%
Original price £39.95
Current price £12.99
This boxset of five titles is a forceful reminder of the tremendous impact that the slave trade of the 16th-19th centuries had on those coerced into servitude and, subsequently, their descendants. Through kidnapping, murder and trickery, families were destroyed forever as they were taken from their homelands, split up and treated as less than human. But brutal as their experiences were, there are also powerful stories of indomitable spirits, pioneers, courage and, above all, hope within these pages.

Recommended Reading Age 

10+ years

Titles in this collection 

  • Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglas by Frederick Douglas
  • Up from Slavery by Booker T. Washington
  • The Underground Railway by William Still
  • Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northup
  • Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl Written by Herself by Harriet Jacobs

Additional Product Features
Publisher Arcturus Publishing Ltd
Format Paperback



Once our orders have been picked, packed and consolidated into one parcel from our warehouse we aim to ship the orders out within 24 hours.

Our postage cost is calculated depending on weight starting from:

Standard Delivery: £2.95 (3-5 business working days).

Next Day Delivery: £6.99 (next day delivery available Monday-Friday, our cut off point for this service is 12pm daily)

Free Delivery: Orders over £40 will automatically qualify for free shipping.

Please note delivery times may vary depending on demand and the postal companies.

Liquid error (layout/theme line 170): Could not find asset snippets/tip-jar-js.liquid